This Is Home

Hi Everyone,

Today marks three weeks in Sevilla! Our time here is going by so quickly, but I am truly loving every second of it!

This past weekend we went on our first group trip to the beautiful city of Granada. It is about 3 hours east of Sevilla by bus and is in the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains. The mountains were snow-capped but the temperatures were in the 50’s and 60’s in the city. Granada is home to the beautiful Alhambra. Friday we took a three-hour guided tour of the Alhambra as well as the Generalife. There are no words to describe the beauty of the palace and the stunning views that overlook the city. Saturday we walked up the hill on the opposite side of the Alhambra to a park that had a stunning view of the mountain side palace. We also saw some of the gypsy caves in the side of the mountains. Courtney and I were also able to visit the beautiful cathedral (we felt so small inside… it was truly breath taking!). We had a wonderful trip and couldn’t have dreamed of better weather either!

One of the highlights of the week was my shopping trip with Courtney, Mallory and Ariel. We were all able to find leather jackets that have proven to be extremely useful! It is very chilly when I walk to class in the morning, but not enough for my big winter coat. Plus, it looks very European and helps this very blonde American fit in just a little more πŸ™‚

Classes have been going very well and it shocks me to say that my favorite class is my grammar class that meets every day at 8:15am. All of my professors are wonderful and I am learning so much. It is neat to be in a city that is full of so much history. I am taking an arts and monuments class, and each time we meet we walk to a different historical landmark of the city. I am taking a Latin American history class and was surprised to learn that Sevilla is home to the body of Christopher Columbus and Sevilla also used to be the main port that all ships going to and coming from the America’s would have to travel through in order to pay their “taxes.”

Yesterday Courtney and I planned a trip to London, England and Dublin, Ireland to celebrate her birthday! I am so excited for the opportunity to see both of these countries while I am here!

It has been a really great week so far, and I cannot describe the feeling of “home” that I finally have after three weeks of living in this city. I know that there is a reason that I am here and I am slowly but surely starting to understand why! Next week I start working with a local family as an intercambio to help them with their English and to practice my Spanish as well!

I miss you all very much and hope that everyone is doing well! I will post some pictures below of the adventures from the past week πŸ™‚

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

